• The Financial District


President Rodrigo R. Duterte has named V. Bruce J. Tolentino and Anita Linda R. Aquino as full-time private sector representatives to the seven-member Monetary Board (MB), the highest policy making-body of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP).

Mr. Tolentino, who first joined the MB on 18 June 2018, will have a fresh term of six years after serving the unexpired balance of the term of Mr. Valentin A. Araneta who passed away on 21 February 2018.

Before his appointment to the MB, Mr. Tolentino worked as Deputy Director General of the International Rice Research Institute. He was also Chief Economist and Country Representative at The Asia Foundation, Senior Technical Adviser at the Agriculture and Natural Resources of the Catholic Relief Services, and Senior Economic Policy Adviser at the Asian Development Bank. Incoming MB Member Aquino, meanwhile, was a member of the Board of Directors of the Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation (PDIC) representing the private sector.  Most recently, she also represented PDIC as Board Adviser to the United Coconut Planters Bank. Moreover, Ms. Aquino served as Department of Finance Chief of Staff and held key positions at Standard Chartered Bank Manila, Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation, Citicorp Investment Bank in Singapore, and Citibank NA Manila. The BSP welcomes their appointment and looks forward to their contribution in the fulfillment of the BSP mandates.

Register for Newsletter

  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • YouTube


@2020 by The Financial District